



Network: Computation in Neural Systems

ISSN: 0954-898X (Print) 1361-6536 (Online) Journal homepage: informahealthcare.com/journals/inet20

Editorial

To cite this article: (2008) Editorial, Network: Computation in Neural Systems, 19:1, 1-2, DOI: 10.1080/09548980801915409

To link to this article: https://doi.org/10.1080/09548980801915409



Published online: 09 Jul 2009.

	_
ſ	
L	121
-	_

Submit your article to this journal \square

Article views: 439



View related articles 🗹

Editorial

It was with great sadness that I learned of the death last year of the great computational neuroscientist and founding Editor of this journal, Daniel Amit. Daniel was a pioneer in the application to neuroscience of modelling principles common in physics. He was extremely influential in the birth of modern computational neuroscience in many other ways besides founding Network, as evidenced for instance by the thousands of citations to his seminal work on spin-glass models of neural networks with Gutfreund and Sompolinsky and his seminal 1989 textbook 'Modeling Brain Function: The World of Attractor Neural Networks' (Cambridge University Press). A more complete appreciation of his life and work appears after this Editorial, written by his former collaborator and Network Editorial Board Member, Nicolas Brunel.

On a happier note, it gives me great pleasure to acknowledge and thank the efforts of both Network's Editorial Board, and the many other scientists who have reviewed papers for 'Network: Computation in Neural Systems' since submissions became electronic in March 2006. The names of the Board members are given on the inside cover, and the names of the other reviewers are listed below. Obviously, the journal as we currently know would come to a halt without the selfless donation of time that so many scientists have made. I never fail to be impressed with the dedication of our reviewers, the huge contribution they make to the quality of the papers we publish, and the complete lack of self-interest usually displayed in carrying out this task. Once again, thank you.

Geoff Goodhill

Curtis Baker Vijay Balasubramanian Maxim Bazhenov Jeffrey Beck Sue Becker Matthias Bethge Kwabena Boahen Mikael Boden Vincent Bonin Sebastien Bouret Michael Breakspear Paul Bressloff Heinrich Bulthoff Neil Burgess Anthony Burkitt Dan Butts Miguel Carreira-Perpinan Dmitri Chklovskii Uri Eden Bard Ermentrout

Adrienne Fairhall Tamar Flash Robert French Andrew Gillies Tim Gollisch Kevin Gurney Boris Gutkin Mary Hayhoe Jonathan Hunt Michael Ibbotson Adam Kepecs Fred Kingdom Emilio Kropff Kit Longden Eve Marder Risto Miikkulainen Aude Oliva Bruno Olshausen Ionathan Pillow Ryan Prenger David Redish Edmund Rolls Michele Rucci

Jurgen Schmidhuber Alexey Semyanov Tanya Sharpee Anne Smith Friedrich Sommer Mandyam Srinivasan Garrett Stanley Mark Stopfer Hirokazu Tanaka Frederic Theunissen Daniel Tranchina Alessandro Treves Arjen van Ooyen Paul Verschure Misha Vorobvev Thomas Wachtler Guy Wallis Ben Willmore Laurenz Wiskott Gordon Wyeth Johannes Zanker Christoph Zetzsche Li Zhaoping